U.S.A: Borlaug Fellowship Program in Developing Countries, 2019.

Institution/University: Selected universities in the countries listed below.

Country Of Study: See below

Level/Field Of Study: Masters and PhD

Application Deadline: 31 December, 2019.

Applications are currently invited for the Borlaug fellowship from the U.S department of agriculture. Researchers should hurry now and apply.

This Program helps to boost food security and economic growth by providing educational opportunities and collaborative research opportunities for scholars from developing and middle-income countries.

Borlaug Fellows are typically scientists, researchers, or policymakers who are in the early or middle stages of their careers. Each colleague usually works individually with a mentor at a university, research center or US government agency for 8 to 12 weeks. The US mentor will later visit the fellowship’s home institution to continue the collaboration. Fellows can also attend specialized conferences and events in their field, for example. The World Symposium of the World Food Prize.

The Borlaug Scholarship Program honors Norman E. Borlaug, an American agronomist, humanitarian and Nobel laureate known as the “Father of the Green Revolution.” Since the program’s launch in 2004, about 800 fellows from 64 countries have participated in research and training activities covering a wide range of topics related to agriculture, including agronomy, veterinary science, nutrition, food safety, health and crop protection, management agricultural biotechnology, agricultural economics and agricultural policy.

The Borlaug program however enhances the promotion of a science-based trade policy that enhances international market access to US agricultural products.

Level/Field of study

Borlaug Fellowships cover research programs in the Field of Agriculture.

Host Nationality

It can be taken in any of the following countries.

Africa and the Middle East, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Liberia, East Asia and the Pacific, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Vietnam, Western Hemisphere, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago.

Eligible Nationality

These Fellowships are available for the following countries.

Africa and Middle East, Algeria, Burkina Faso, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Jordan, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Morocco, Mozambique, Rwanda, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, East Asia and the Pacific, Cambodia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Mongolia, Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam, Europe and Eurasia, Georgia, Turkey, Ukraine, South and Central Asia, Bangladesh, India, Kazakhstan, Sri Lanka, Western Hemisphere, Colombia, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru


Scholarship Worth

This program also offers opportunities in certain areas such as Crop breeding, integrated pest management, and post-harvest management.

Eligibility for Borlaug Fellowships 2019

For one to be eligible for the Borlaug fellowship program, he has to meet the following criteria:

  • He must be a citizen of one of the countries listed above and very fluent in English Language.
  • Be done with the masters degree program or any other higher degree.
  • Ensure that you are either in your early or middle stage of your career with not more than 10 years experience.
  • Be an employee of a university, government agency or research entity in your home country.
  • Show intention not to stop working in your home country after the fellowship.

How to Apply For Borlaug fellowship:

Candidates must apply via the online application system. The following information will be required:

  • Completed application form
  • 2-3 page program proposal and action plan
  • Signed approval from the applicant’s home institution
  • Two letters of recommendation
  • An official copy of the transcript for college/university degree(s) received
  • Copy of passport identification page

Borlaug Cocoa Research Fellowships 2019 Application Deadline

Borlaug Fellowships application deadline is on 31st December 2019.

Official Link



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *